Bittersweet Growth

Posted on

I’ve been struggling with a pretty huge decision over the past few months. I LOVE Baby Duck Soap Co. It means the world to me since it’s named after my son. It’s been a HUGE part of my life for the past two years.

20140805-112534-41134177.jpg
Some of the common questions I’ve received over the years pertaining to BDSC are:
Is this only for babies?
Is the soap made out of Baby Ducks?
Can men use this?
I want my products to appeal to a MUCH wider audience. I have grand aspirations to get my line into the likes of Anthropology, Boutique Hotels and Spas. I want branch out and work the International Gift Fairs in New York, Chicago, Atlanta and San Francisco.
I won’t be able to reach the audience I’m after with such a young, feminine, adorable brand. It’s time for Baby Duck to grow up. Let me introduce you to Canard Labs Soap

20140805-112950-41390516.jpg
Never fear…you can still call me Ducky since Canard happens to be French for duck. 😉 My product line is getting a pretty extensive makeover. You’ll see the addition of soy candles and natural yogurt lotion. The most popular soap scents are staying with occasional seasonal scents being added. The Whipped Shea Body Butters are staying as well!

20140805-185559-68159803.jpg
An example of the new Canard Labs label. There’s still some tweaking ahead but it’s pretty close to the final product.
Baby Duck Soap will be sticking around to get us through the holidays. Starting January 1, 2015 Baby Duck will become Canard Labs Soap. This has been a super difficult decision to make. I feel confident that the change will yield positive results. I appreciate each and every customer, supporter, friend and soap making/ business mentor that has supported me over the last couple of years. Stay tuned for more updates! If you want to stay in the loop with all things Canard Labs Soap check me out here:
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/CanardLabsSoap
Instagram – @canardlabs

Love and Bubbles,
Tanya

10 responses »

  1. Can’t wait to watch you grow!!

    Reply
  2. That’s very exciting! Wishing you continued success!

    Reply
  3. Very nice! Clean and classy! Best of luck with the transition.

    Reply
  4. Exciting times ahead! Wishing you the very best! 🙂

    Reply
  5. Good luck with the new direction! Baby duck is a cute name but it looks like the right direction for a change to have broader appeal.

    Reply
  6. I can’t think of a bigger better dream for you to capitalize on. I have to admit, with your power, drive, charisma and kindness, I found it hard to believe you would be at farmers markets every weekend. I’m so honored to have met you in KC, can hardly wait for INDY and wherever else you happen to be where I am…This is such a genuinely positive and encouraging subculture we have !!! prayers and as much energy as I can whoosh over to you from halfway across the country !!! Keep Calm and Canard on !
    laurie

    Reply
  7. Wow – all change! You have an amazing future ahead of you I’m sure 😀 I adore you packaging, so sleek and elegant. I really should be surprised that someone asked whether your soaps was made out of baby ducks, but you know what, I’m not lol, it takes all sorts eh?
    All the very best Tanya
    Vicki

    Reply

Leave a comment