RSS Feed

Soap Guild Conference Tomfoolery

Posted on
Soap Guild Conference Tomfoolery

This year I had an inside look at the behind the scenes of the largest soap conference in the nation, The Handcrafted Soap and Cosmetics Guild Conference. Working on the crew, I saw a huge ballroom and several pallets filled with boxes, transformed into a beautiful vendor and raffle area.
No bones about it… This. Was. Work!! Most days, we’d report down by 6 or 7 am and work until about 5pm.
I was tasked to put together badges with my most favorite Sud Bud and partner in crime, Charlene Simon of Bathhouse Soapery and Caldarium. All 422 badges took us two full days to complete. Easy peasy?

20140524-210021-75621373.jpg
Before the conference started, I was one of six amazing soap makers who recorded a video for the HSCG’s new learning library. Look for it soon. It’ll be accessible to all members. My video featured an in-the-pot-swirl topped with a mica oil swirl.
20140524-203555-74155794.jpg
The next day, the conference started. Which meant, registration was in full swing. We pretty much killed it! Getting everyone checked in and loaded up with their AMAZING goodie bags.

20140524-203741-74261434.jpg

20140524-203742-74262027.jpg
I haven’t really mentioned it yet, but we stayed at an amazing resort! The Loews Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson. Wow is all I have to say. It was gorgeous.

20140524-203926-74366996.jpg

20140524-203927-74367610.jpg

20140524-203925-74365483.jpg

20140524-203926-74366548.jpg
The entire week was incredible. It flew by in a crazy blur leaving me covered in blisters and badge back…but it was seriously worth it!! Meeting up with some new friends and old friends. I wish I had more time to spend with everyone but there is always next year πŸ˜‰

20140524-204953-74993459.jpg
A few more highlights, the newest board members were elected…no I was not elected but was MORE than honored to even be included amongst such amazingly talented soapmakers! Benjamin Aaron, Holly Port and Charlene Simon were elected. Look for some pretty outstanding things from them!

20140524-205305-75185671.jpg
I have to mention here that Leigh O’Donnell is just absolutely amazing to work with. Kudos to her ability to reign the likes of Charlene and I in all while organizing this ginormous event.

20140524-205630-75390373.jpg
Now I’m back home with my two most favorite boys! Gearing up for a huge market season and getting acquainted with our new house. ❀️

20140524-205754-75474291.jpg

12 responses »

  1. omy, sigh. so thinking of all of you there !! Next year In Indy and I am going…even if I have to sleep in the car ( kidding ) ( uncomfortable ) ( too creaky ) I am so excited for more updates and all kinds of news about the convention from an industrial standpoint . i hate to have missed a word or minute of all that wisdom and optimism !!!!
    how did you get to be on the crew ? was it an application process ? or do they just know by now of your ammazing and fleet fingered work and creativity ethic ????
    am awed by this .
    laurie

    Reply
    • Thanks Laurie!! I was in a group of ‘troublemakers’ πŸ˜‰ last year. Expressed interested while at the conference and was asked if I’d like to be on the crew. The rest is history. Maybe contact the guild and express your interest?

      Reply
      • Iwill. This community is an ever opening portal of newness . Lol. Maybe ill chat w Sr. C. She is amazing too !! And fairly close . And related some little bit to my new daughter in law . Will you be going to any others this year ?

  2. This sounds very exciting! I wonder whether we have a conference here in Europe. It must be great fun to attend!! Hugs to all soap makers!

    Reply
    • πŸ˜„ it was a great time! hopefully you can find something similar in Europe. It’s wonderful to be able to talk about soap with like minded addicts for a week.

      Reply
  3. Wow. You were quite the busy bee. The Loews looks so wonderful. Glad you had a great time =) Of course, it would be impossible not to with Charlene as your happy sidekick!

    Reply
  4. You captured the whirlwind of the conference perfectly! So great to finally meet you in person. Next year will be even more exciting, I’m sure!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • You are seriously as cute as a button!!! It was awesome to finally meet you and hang out. We don’t even have to wait a full year for the next one since it’s in April next year!! Woot!

      Reply
  5. Pingback: Round 'em up, Social Media Pardners! | HSCG blogHSCG blog

  6. Omg! The conferance was in tucson? I just started making soap, but I can only hope it comes back here.i live in tucson, about 1 minute from the resort. Is this conferance only for experienced soapers? Would someone like me be able to come and benefit from the conferance? I don’t sell, but there’s no classes to help learn, so I’m dependant upon the Internet and uploaded videos. It looks like it was so much fun! A lot of work, but fun!

    Reply
    • The first year I attended the soap conference in Raleigh, NC I scraped together the funds to attend. I’m so glad I did though because I ended up tripling my revenues that year and doubling them every year afterwards. One of the BEST business investments I’ve ever made! It’s also really wonderful to be surrounded by like minded soap addicts for a whole week!

      The conferences bounce around the country from year to year. This year it’s in Indianapolis and next year it’s in Tampa. http://www.soapguild.org/conference/2015/overview.php

      I highly recommend saving up and attending whenever you can swing it. Especially if you’re looking to take the leap from hobbyist to business owner. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

