RSS Feed

How It’s Made ~ Brigadoon

Posted on
How It’s Made ~ Brigadoon

Once upon a very long time ago…. I was heavily involved in musical theater. So much so that I even majored in it in college. When I stumbled across Bramble Berry’s Heather & Hyacinth Fragrance Oil, the song ‘Heather on the Hill’ from Brigadoon popped into my head. Inspiration struck and I knew I just HAD to make a plaid soap with this FO and call it Brigadoon.

20140306-152556.jpg
Let me preface all of this by saying that I not only pulled inspiration from the musical Brigadoon but also from a plaid soap created by Kevin from Devinely Designs. Seeing his design assured me that it was possible to achieve the look I was after.
For this design, I used the Squeeze Bottle Technique. It’s pretty darn versatile. It starts with transposing a design on wax or parchment paper. I hand drew a plaid design on some parchment. If you’re using wax paper, draw your design on the matte side. You can print up a design from our friend Google and copy it to your parchment paper. Whatever works best for you!

20140306-153316.jpg
Once the design was drawn, I flipped the marker side down into my mold so the marker wouldn’t bleed onto my soap. Now I can use those lines as a guide.

20140306-153442.jpg
I decided on a combo of greens, yellow and white for my plaid. I prepared my squeeze bottles with an apple green mica, titanium dioxide and a yellow mica. I premixed a Kelly Green mica for the base color. For the squeeze bottle design soap, I prepared a pound of soap ahead of time. I probably only used about 0.2 pounds on the plaid design but I used the rest of the soap for embeds for a future batch. I poured a little bit of soap into each squeeze bottle, shook the bottles until the color was blended then tested the consistency of the soap on a piece of parchment.

20140306-153855.jpg
You wouldn’t want your soap to be too runny before squeezing out your design. Using the drawing as my guide, I filled in the design with my colored soap.

20140306-154028.jpg
This plaid design will be the top of my soap. The Kelly Green soap will end up being the main background color. I allowed this plaid soap design to set up for about 15 to 20 mins. Prepared my main batter and spooned a little bit over the top of the plaid design.

20140306-154325.jpg
Looks like my plaid design is staying put! I lightly poured the rest of the soap on top of the design then inserted my dividers.

20140306-154434.jpg
Now the waiting begins… I’ll unmold this in 24 hours, to you it’ll feel like 5 seconds….

20140307-193100.jpg
Due to the wrinkling of the parchment and the consumption of way too much coffee…my plaid lines are wonky. My yellow decided to go transparent on me too. I’m not super happy with the final result but next time I’ll use wax paper and see if that will make a difference. Or maybe I’ll freehand the lines… Either way, it smells delightful.

5 responses »

  1. Maybe use glycerin just on top and let it get hard then add the cp

    Reply
    • Glycerin has a tendency to tunnel through soap leaving indentations. Great technique, just not what I wanted to achieve here. I’ve yet to tackle a glycerin mica swirl. Definitely on my short list. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  2. Why not just do the lines on top of the soap? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. I love your inspiration! I would try freezer paper. It doesn’t wrinkle at all when the soap hits it.

    Reply
    • Awesome Ruth! That’s kind of what I hoped for next time I make this. I was lazy and used what I had in the house. LOL. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

