Living In Limbo

Posted on
Living In Limbo

We’ve made it!! We arrived safe and sound in Oregon. The drive here was a four day journey through some slight sleet storms and bit of snow through Wyoming and Utah. Then we hit a huge stretch of icy roads about 2 hours from our final destination. All in all it was a great trip.

20140120-162459.jpg
Baby Duck and Mama Mia resting on a hotel room bed.

20140120-162617.jpg
Christmas Eve hike at Bandon Dunes.

20140120-162731.jpg
Baby Duck and Daddy on a pier off the Bandon Boardwalk.

20140120-162901.jpg
Baby Duck at the park.

We’re slowly getting settled into our temporary home. Soon we’ll be house hunting for our permanent home! Hence…Living in Limbo. I can’t quite unpack everything because we’ll be moving again in the next month or two. Right now, I’m running Baby Duck Soap Co out of a series of boxes in a state of somewhat organized chaos.

20140120-163855.jpg
Room 1 of 2 filled with Baby Duck Soap Co Supplies. How did I ever do this in an 1100 sq. ft. apartment????

With Baby Duck in the house with me full time, it limits my time for making. Soaping can only be done when he’s napping or sleeping for the night. I’ll be restocking all of our favorites slowly but surely.
Today I was able to make my first batch of soap in a little over two months. It was glorious!!! soaping has always been cathartic for me! I’ve been skipping around on cloud 9 since I made it!!

20140120-164407.jpg
This is scented with Oakmoss Sandalwood and is sure to be a crowd favorite. I did an in-the-pot-swirl for the base and tried my hand at the taiwan swirl for the top. I’m digging that swirl! I’ve been wanting to revamp my FruitSoapia bar and this just may be the swirl to do it!

I cannot thank my customers and supporters enough for sticking with me through this whole crazy trip! Just one more move then life will be back to normal….well…my version of normal πŸ˜‰

7 responses »

  1. Welcome to Oregon! We moved to Portland six years ago from Denver at Thanksgiving time and had a little white knuckle driving, too. I’m glad you made it safely.

    Reply
    • Holy Moley! You totally get it then! we purposely avoided the Denver route because the weather was even worse that way. But now we’re being rewarded with 50-60 degree weather on a daily basis. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Wow that’s some journey! Good luck with the house hunting – I’ll be watching your ‘Living in Limbo’ with interest as I’ll be in exactly the same situation in about six weeks. We’re relocating (admittedly only 2 hours drive away) due to my husband’s work but we’re lucky enough to be staying with my mum until we manage to sell our current house and buy our new home. Will still be in limbo though, and certainly won’t be able to soap as much until we’re properly settled 😦 Do you have any tips on relocating little ones? My 9 month old probably won’t notice :0) but I’m thinking the (nearly) 4yr old will find it all very unsettling.

    Gorgeous Taiwan Swirl by the way!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much Vicki!!
      Any relocation is super unfun, especially when we can’t soap! Liam just turned three and does quite well in the car. The adjustment period after the move was difficult. It took a good 2 weeks to adjust. Bring as many familiar items as you can to make the transition easier. We brought his blankets and favorite toys. Lately he’s been sleeping with our dog for comfort. Bring lots of wine for YOU! he was quite the handful for those two weeks. I think once we resettle into our new home with our furniture, it won’t be as hard on him.
      Best of luck on your upcoming move!!!

      Reply
  3. Haha – super unfun is a great way to describe it – five weeks to go and we’re already in a world of packing chaos lol! Yep, I think there’s going to be a long period of adjustment, wine is probably the very best thing you could have suggested πŸ˜€

    Reply
  4. Wow! You are probably glad the major relocation is over, but I hope you find the perfect home so you don’t feel squished for too long! Your soap looks fantastic with the Taiwan Swirl top.

    Reply

Leave a comment